CURRITUCK – Cayden Lowe, a member of Currituck County 4-H, is the champion of the 2021 Southern Regional 4-H Horse Show Public Speaking Contest.

Lowe won gold medals for her presentation “Coming Back with Confidence” at the District and State NC 4-H Public Speaking Contest in 2021 and qualified to represent North Carolina at the Southern Regional 4-H Horse Championships.

Lowe also got the chance to compete in the All-American Quarter Horse Congress in Columbus, Ohio in October and in the Eastern National 4-H Horse Roundup in Louisville, Kentucky in November.

ARHS WIC Klinik wins breastfeeding award

Albemarle Regional Health Services’ clinic for women with infants was recognized by the US Department of Agriculture’s Food and Nutrition Service as a WIC Breastfeeding Award of Excellence winner.

More than 100 of the awards were given across the country, 28 of them to WIC agencies in the southeast. ARHS ‘WIC Clinic was one of only four in North Carolina to receive the award. Other excellent WIC clinics in North Carolina included the Brunswick County, Union County, and Richmond County Health Department clinics.

“The USDA established the awards program to recognize local WIC agencies who have provided exemplary breastfeeding promotion and support to WIC mothers,” said Willie C. Taylor, FNS regional administrator in the Southeast. “The intent is to provide models that will help other WIC clinics strengthen their breastfeeding programs to increase rates of onset and duration of breastfeeding nationwide.”

A primary goal of the WIC program is to improve the health of babies and mothers through breastfeeding; WIC cares for about half of all babies born in the country.

Smith was appointed to the Fellows Commission by the ECSU

Dr. Joy Smith, Dean of Elizabeth City State University’s School of Education and Business, was appointed to the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Commission by the UNC Board of Governors.

The commission set up by the NC General Assembly in 2017 is responsible for defining the criteria for program and loan recipients as well as for the selection process. The 14-person commission selects five participating universities with recognized preparatory programs for teachers and selects the recipients for loans that are available.

“It is an honor to be named to this commission,” said Smith. “Working to train future teachers in North Carolina is an important mission and I am excited to be part of this team.”

Smith is a longtime economics professor at ECSU. She earned a Bachelor of Arts in Policy Studies from Dartmouth College, a law degree from Northwestern University School of Law, a Masters of Business from DePaul University’s Kellstadt School of Business, a Masters in Project Management from Western Carolina University, and a Master of Philosophy and PhD from the Stern School of Business at New York University. Before joining ECSU, she taught at Columbia College in Chicago, New York University, and Indiana University Purdue University Fort Wayne.

Smith is also acting as the new student advisor. Her main areas of research are supply chain management, psychological contracts, GRIT and rural student education.

Schools Foundation elects new leaders

HERTFORD – Dina Hurdle has been elected President and Cody Lamb as Vice President of Perquimans County Schools Foundation, Inc. for 2021-22.

Hurdle is a graduate of Perquimans High School in 1974. She continued her education at the College of the Albemarle and earned a degree in business administration in 1976.

“Dina has been a member of the Board of Trustees for seven years and is active, visible, known and respected in our community,” said Foundation Director Brenda Lassiter. “During her entire tenure as a board member, she was an enrichment and volunteers at golf tournaments and on the selection committee for scholarships.”

Lamb graduated from Perquimans High School in 2006 and NC State University in 2010, where he earned a degree in Agricultural Management.

“Mr. Lamb is a lifelong resident of Perquimans County, an avid supporter of education and athletics in the county, and has served on the board of trustees, chaired the finance committee, and board member for the past five years,” said Lassiter. “He is respected throughout the state and will be an asset in this leadership position. “

The Board of Directors of the Perquimans County Schools Education Foundation also welcomed four new board members to its July meeting: James Caddy, Jaundice Tolson-Lawrence, Yvonne Honza and Matt Winslow.

Jarvis-Mackey appointed to the charity’s board of directors

RALEIGH – Lenora Jarvis-Mackey, President / CEO of River City Community Development Corp., is one of five new members appointed to the board of directors of the North Carolina Center for Nonprofits, a statewide network for charitable directors and employees. The new board members will “provide strategic direction and growth around the centre’s mission to educate, network, and advocate for nonprofits in North Carolina,” according to an NCCN press release.